Rio Grande County Clerk & Recorder

Office Hours: Monday – Friday - 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

965 6th Street
PO Box 160
Del Norte, CO 81132

Phone: 719-657-3334
Fax: 719-657-2621

Cindy Hill
Clerk & RecorderCindy Hillclerk@riograndecounty.org

Motor Vehicles, Titles & Registrations, License Plates

Driver’s License or Picture Identification (Secure and Verifiable Identification) required on all new registrations, title transfers, permits, and placards.

Proof of Insurance required on all permit and license plate purchases and renewals. VIN (Vehicle Identification Number) Inspections required on all vehicles purchased out of state or with out of state titles. Inspections are done by Colorado law enforcement agencies.

Effective June 1, 2009 a late fee will be charged for delinquent registrations. The late fee will apply to renewals past the 1 month grace period, vehicles not registered within 60 days of purchase, and vehicles not registered within 90 days of residency in Colorado. State law requires vehicles to be currently registered whether the vehicle is used or not.

Check with the Clerk's Office for additional information

Birth/Death Certificates

Certified Birth Certificate

$17.75

Additional Copies (when purchased at same time) - $10.00 each

Click here for an application

Certified Death Certificate

$20.00

Additional Copies (when purchased at same time) - $13.00 each

Click here for an application

* Identification and proof of relationship required
Check with the Clerk's Office for information on availability

Marriage & Civil Union License

Both parties should come to the Clerk's office at same time to apply for a license.

Proof of age and Social Security number are required.

If either party is under the age of 18 or both parties cannot come in, contact the office for additional information.

License must be used within 35 days of purchase.

Marriage or Civil Union must take place in Colorado.

After marriage or civil union, license must be returned to Rio Grande County Clerk’s office within 63 days.

After the certificate is recorded, the original cerficate, the application and a certified copy of the certificate will be returned to the parties at no additional cost.

Marriage or Civil Union License - $30.00
Additional copy of recorded certificate - $2.00
Certified copy of recorded certificate - $3.00

Click here for an application

Recording

Real Estate Records

Documents 8 1/2" x 14"

First page of the document - $13.00
Additional pages/sides - $5.00 each

Real Property Transfer Declaration Form
Oversize Documents (Larger Than 8 1/2" X 14")

First Page of the document - $13.00
Additional pages $10.00 each

State Documentary Fees (on land transfers)

$0.01 per $100 of consideration (over $500)

UCC filed in Real Estate ONLY

For 1 or 2 page documents - $13.00
For 3 or more pages - $16.00

Copies of recorded documents
Standard size documents (8.5" x 11") $.25 per page
Legal size documents (8.5" x 14") $1.25 per page
Documents sized from 8.5" x 14" to 36" x 36" $10.00 per page
Documents larger than 36" x 36" $10.00/36"x36" increment
Certification $1.00 per document
Commissioners’ Meeting Minutes $1.25 per page

Other Licenses

Liquor License
Contact our office
Boat, Off Highway Vehicle, and Snowmobile Registrations

Registered by:

Colorado State Parks
(303) 791-1920
13787 South Highway 85
Littleton, CO 80125

Forms available in Clerk's office

Contact the State of Colorado Parks office
Sales Tax and Business Registration

Colorado Department of Revenue
(303) 238-3278
1375 Sherman Street
Denver, CO 80261-0009

Forms available in Clerk’s Office

Contact the State of Colorado Department of Revenue